Tuesday, February 23, 2010


*Artist: Darkthrone 
*Album: Discography 
*Year: 1988 - 2008 
*Genre: Death Metal (early), Black Metal (mid), Black Metal / Punk (later) 
*Country: Norway

Current line-up:

Fenriz (Gylve Nagell) - Drums, Vocals (ex-Isengard (Nor), ex-Valhall, ex-Neptune Towers, ex-Dødheimsgard, ex-Storm (Nor), Black Death (Nor))
Nocturno Culto (Ted Skjellum) - Guitars, Bass, Vocals (ex-Satyricon)

Former/Past Member(s):

Dag Nilsen - Bass 1988-'91
Zephyrous (Ivar Enger) - Rhythm Guitar (1988-1995) (Black Death (Nor))
Anders Risberget - Guitars (1988)
LRZ (Lars Sorensen) - intro and outro synth on album "Hate Them" (Red Harvest, Mezzerschmitt, Sirius, Dunkel:heit, Terranoidz, Vampire State Building, Forgery)

Additional notes:

Before changing their name to Darkthrone in '87, they were called Black Death (Nor).

Darkthrone's name was inspired by a danish zine from around 1985/86 called Blackthorn, written by the guys from the danish band Desexult, as well as by the lyrics of the Celtic Frost's song "Jewel Throne" (I'm the king, sitting in the dark hiding from the shadows of the wind/.../ As I gaze from the Jewel Throne to the portal of infinity).

Varg Vikernes of Burzum contributed lyrics for Transilvanian Hunger and Panzerfaust.

Fenriz recently released in mid-2004 a "Fenriz Presents: The Best of Old School Black Metal" album, a compilation of old-school black and thrash metal music. It features groups like Mayhem (Nor), Burzum, Destruction, Celtic Frost, Sarcуfago among others.

Back in 1999, Fenriz, Satyr (Satyricon), Phil Anselmo (Pantera), Kiljoy (Necrophagia) and Maniac (Mayhem (Nor)) started a "supergroup" called Eibon. They were supposed to record a full-length, but due to their heavy schedule, plans were changed. Maniac left the band, and they released one track called "Mirror Soul Jesus" in Moonfog 2000 compilation "A Different Perspective". They also recorded an unnamed song. Both of them were available for download from the Moonfog site.

Nocturno Culto and Fenriz have formed a new record label, Tyrant Syndicate Productions in cooperation with UK label Peaceville Records.

The demo "Cromlech" got them a multi-record deal contract with Peaceville Records.

Darkthrone started as a death metal band, but by the end of '90, beginning of '91, when they were rehearsing the "Goatlord" material, Nocturno Culto, Zephyrous and Fenriz started to get into black metal. Soon they decided to abort the Goatlord sessions, cause the material didn't reflect what they felt, and started to compose the songs that were to be found in "A Blaze in the Northern Sky". Dag Nilsen was the only member who still wanted to play technical death metal, so he recorded the bass lines for "A Blaze..." and then left the band.

Born Dates:
Ted Skjellum (1972)
Gylve Nagell (28th November 1971)

1988 - Land Of Frost (Demo) 


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails


back to top